Simple Tricks

One Notebook, One Planner, One Pen

I have a thing for paper … and notebooks … and calendars, pens, highlighters, and basically all things office supply related. I really don’t like shopping at all, but when back-to-school sales are in full force, I am in all the stores getting all the deals!

And I don’t just buy the stuff; I use it up. I love trying to new pens, and there’s pretty much nothing better than cracking open a new spiral-bound notebook to me. It’s awesome, and it’s a pretty cheap fancy, but it’s also cluttering up my house. I have a dozen or more partially used notebooks floating around and who-knows-how-many pens lying everywhere. I have more post is than anyone needs, and it’s definitely become a problem.

For one thing, it’s clutter. I don’t need it, and I don’t want clutter around me anymore. I start new notebooks with grand ideas, and then never use them again. I keep so many pens and pencils around that I never know where any one of them are. It also keeps me disorganized because I can never find a pen when I need one, and I never have any idea which notebook has the list I need or the story idea I’m looking for.

Once again, I’m noticing that sometimes “abundance” brings me more stress than joy.

For the past few weeks now I’ve been trying something new. I’m only using one notebook, one planner, and one pen.

In my one notebook I’ve been keeping daily to do lists, bill paying reminders, holiday and party planning, deployment lists, and basically any random thought that needed to be written down. So far I’ve been shocked by how much easier it is to find the lists I need.

To keep up with my one pen, I found this post on Pinterest about a week ago. I whipped up something similar that fits  both my planner and my notebook in less than ten minutes, and I haven’t lost my pen in that whole time.

My planner, which is taking the place of using multiple calendars, is working beautifully as well! Not only am I following the schedule of my calendar and forgetting less, I’ve also taken to using the weekly planning portion as more of a short journal of my days. It’s nice to sit down at the end of the day and look back on the day, and I also think that if I can keep it up, it will be interesting to look back on down the road. I have never ever ever been good at keeping up with a journal, but so far this really short version of journaling seems to be working out quite well.

I know this is just one small change in my simpler season plans, but it’s working for me. I’m more organized, and there is definitely less random clutter in my house both of which are very important parts of my simpler season journey. It also illustrates to me something I’m finding more and more true as I move forward, that these small changes are making big differences in my life.

One thought on “One Notebook, One Planner, One Pen

Soo ... what do YOU think?

