Working on Me

2016: The Year of Good Health

I’ve thought long and hard about my New Year’s Resolutions this year. I contemplated a 12-month set of goals a la The Happiness Project. I mulled over categories like the Money Saving Mom. I even thought about a simplistic “one word.” None of those things fit so I’m doing my own thing based on the one topic that kept popping up and had the most concrete goals.

My health.

2016 finds me, like so many other years, happier and hopefully a little wiser than the previous year but in no better shape health-wise. I don’t eat well. I drink too much soda and coffee. I avoid doctors at all costs, and I haven’t slept through the night more than 5 times in the past 365 days.

This year my resolution is to Focus on my health.

  1. Work up to daily exercise. I’m shooting for twice a week in January, three times in February, four in March, etc).
  2. Eat my veggies. I’m not a fan of eating vegetables. I like them cold and drowned in Ranch dressing, but that’s about it. I will try one new veggie recipe a week in 2016. (BTW, that’s the scariest challenge on this list. Sad.)
  3. Drink more water. I want to crowd out the excessive coffee and soda with water.
  4. Go see a doctor. Or four. I avoid doctors of all kinds like the plague, but this year I will update the records and remedy the issues.
  5. Get some more good sleep. I slept through the night, uninterrupted by my own brain or who knows what, about five times in 2015 and probably about the same each year before that since … well … as long as I can remember. I need to figure this out this year.

I’ll be keeping up with my goals in two ways.

First, I am scheduling everything on my planner. I find that if I write even small tasks on my monthly calendar, I am much more likely to get it done. I’ve scheduled exercise on various days to see what days work best and chosen Sundays to try new recipes because I always grocery shop on the weekends so the veggies will be the freshest then. I’ll be calling to make a doctor’s appointment on the first day back to school, and I’ll be tracking my water consumption and sleep on my calendar as I go along.

Second, I’ll be writing about it. For the most part I’ll write monthly outcomes on the last day of each month. I may share updates throughout the month.

Is there something missing from my list?

Yeah, you’d think “lose weight” would be on there. I am, in fact, about 50 pounds overweight. Buuuut, focusing on my weight haven’t really ever worked for me so I’m just going to focus on getting healthier and hope the rest falls in line.

So there you have it. 2016: The Year of Good Health. Here’s to seeing this one through!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “2016: The Year of Good Health

Soo ... what do YOU think?

